Risk Taking

On a recent trip with my accelerated English I classes to the Wexner Center for the Arts, we viewed the documentary, Forbidden Voices: How to Start a Revolution with a Laptop. The film featured three women bloggers  in Cuba, China and Iran who write about social injustice in their countries, thus putting themselves in danger.  Yoani Sánchez, Zeng Jinyan and Farnaz Seifi are pioneers who use the internet as a tool to fight oppression.  The ensuing class discussions were about fear, conformity, intimidation, labels, propaganda, censorship, risks, change, resistance, determination, corruption, and dignity.  My students and I realized that as Americans,  we often take our freedoms for granted.

The theme I’ve been thinking about a lot lately is RISK.  The risks I take feel insignificant to those of these women.  I do not risk exile, or beating, or censorship, or imprisonment.  These women have made a tremendous impact on the lives of many based on the risks they take. Political prisoners have been released.  Women’s rights have improved.  Voices have been heard.

How do I take risks?  How can I make an impact?  Are my risks insignificant?

I’m currently taking a risk journey with my freshmen.  It’s been sometimes uncomfortable, sometimes laughable and sometimes frustrating.  What are we doing?  Blogging.  Why are we doing it? We thought it would be a fun way to improve our skills as writers and thinkers.  Do I know what I’m doing?  Absolutely not!

I’m comfortable saying, “I don’t know how to do this, but we are going to learn how together.”  On the risk scale, this is a small risk, but it makes me feel vulnerable, so I think it counts.

We are past the uncomfortable, laughable phase, and moving into the rewarding phase.  In my classes, I  have 39 young men and women with profound thoughts.  These students of mine are funny, witty and intelligent.  They have something to say.  They are supportive of each other (and me!) and willing to take risks themselves.  They are thinking and writing and thinking and writing.  Maybe they are even having a little fun while doing it?   I’m proud of them!

One comment to Risk Taking

  1. Cody Thompson says:

    Word to your physics teacher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *